[day of the dead....] [2003-10-31 @ 12:34 p.m.]

Yah, it's Halloween!- We moved yesterday. I am now in the hotel..and don't have a costume. I am about to venture out to purchase one. Yah!- I have had a very life perspective altering week. I went to the Elliott Smith memorial on Sunset with my friend Lisa, we got there. And it was quite moving. We were trying to make jokes on the way to keep our mood light. We did we rocked the jokes all the way up to the McDonalds parking lot, near the memorial.(dont park there, more on that later)- my joke was: " Hey, let's get the Elliott Smith Memorial Cheesburger! " and my friend's was "lets get some plastic knives! " ok these were very BAD jokes. BAD karma. we spent our time at the memorial about an hour. put down some candles and notes. from people asking to leave messages on his bulletin board online. I wrote a message on the wall.- about Gerorge Jones.- I felt it was the right thing to do by going. I cried. not too hard but I had a lot of tears welling up in my eyes. It was so obvious that this person was so loved. and they did not even realize it.- perhaps now he does. I hope he is in a lighter, prettier place now.-

We walked back to McDonalds and my car was about to be TOWED. yes Towed!- my god,it was 5 minutes after 10.- So I had to give him 100$ to DROP it.- I did not have the CASH on me so I rean around like a chicken with its head cut off looking for an ATM.- No ATMs for like a 5 block radius.-Not within walking distance anyways.-So I called my angelic boyfriend who came and saved the day!- I was scared. Lisa was scared. It was crazy.- the tow truck guys actually turned out to be cool and they told us of their harrowing experiences while towing. Like having guns pulled on them. etc. towing cars from Compton. that sort of thing.

So this all put my life into perspective. I am lucky. Lucky to be alive. Lucky to have someone who cares enough about me to drive out of his way the day before we move to bail me out of this lame situation.- Lucky to know that the little things are things I should NOT get upset over.- Life is too short for that kind of bullshit.-So those were my lessons learned this week. I feel like this is a new chapter in my life that is just beginning. I am going to visit the E.S. Memorial on Nov 1st. "Day of the Dead"- and I want to go to Olivera Street downtown. I love the Day of the Dead its a cleansing experience.-so.... that being said...

I am off to see the wizard, yo.

xo

star


|prev| |next|


| archives | current | email | host |