[My first column] [2003-11-07 @ 2:54 p.m.]

THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT

(a eulogy)

The world lost two beautiful kids last year. A month to the day apart from one another. Both of them were only 20 years old. Both of them were in the same band with me, Jet Set Lipstick. I feel like I am going to spit out some pathetic sentimental bullshit that would make my friends roll over in their graves, however I felt a duty to myself and my friends to writeabout rock and roll, real rock and roll. (Even if it's just a glimpse.)The kind of rock and roll you get when you play music in your garage and the neighborhood kids come by and listen.

Scene: January 1999, San Diego, The Mohawk House.The night I saw the future of rock and roll. The Jet Set Lipstick. They were influenced by Little Richard and the MC5. They had Keith Moon, Jr. , Danny Frye, on drums, this Steve Shelley looking kid on bass, Fern Fernquist- and this very handsome young man singing lead...Nick Galvas. Nick was part Johnny Thunders and part Frank Zappa. Part Little Richard ,Part Bob Dylan. An old soul. I did not know this at the time but seeing them play would change my life forever.

Later that night, when Jet Set Lipstick were finished playing, I asked Nick if he needed a ride home. He did and I drove him home in my boyfriends Forest Green 300 ZX. I felt like a total rebel-going out with jailbat.. The boy was fucking 17! Before I knew Nick, my friend, Virgil , reported to me that Nick has been arrested for a DUI- he was driving a Mercedes, drunk off his assand wearing a woman's dress. He was 16. I don't know how much more rock and roll you can get than that. It was very apparent a legend was in the making. Or re-making. I was convinced that he was Jimi Hendrix reincarnated. I think I was smoking too much weed.

Drugs were the reason I left San Diego.( In addition to my speed-freak room-mate, throwing me out for no apparent reason other than her delusions of granduer.) but, yes , ultimately the steady use of drugs and booze made me leave. It just got out of control. I never thought drugs would be the reason I ended up coming back to San Diego, for a funeral. I took Highway 1 all the way down to the funeral. I listened to "Sticky Fingers" I don't know how many times. My head was not in this dimension. I seemed to travel eight hours in a matter of minutes. Time ceased to exist. Moonlite Mile over and over again.

Even though my friends are gone. I try to remember the happy moments. The moments that made that part of our lives some of the best times ever. As I am approaching my late 20s... I look back and realize that I may never be able to capture those moments again. The rock and roll dance parties, playing music in the garage, being totally free. I remember one time we were all riding in my friend Fern's beat up VW on the 8 Freeway, Ciccone Youth was cranked. The air was blowing through my hair and the sun beamed onto my face. It felt totally real and totally free. There is nothing that can replace that moment. I will always treasure it. As I treasure my dear friends. They are eternally young. They have access to the most amazing recording equipment and gear. They are playing the best honky tonks and have the most rockin' people to jam with. Somewhere beyond the pearly gates or whatever you want to call it. There are two kids, that are alright.

For Nick and Fern

1982-2002

-Barbara Ann Crumm

To listen to Jet Set Lipstick's "Rock and Roll Baby" go here: http://www.mp3.com/Jet_Set_Lipstick

copyright 2003 barbara ann crumm




|prev| |next|


| archives | current | email | host |